Reflections from a Past President

You may remember that this blog came to fruition under the guidance and creativity of  SCACPA’s Immediate Past President, Eddie Brown. It is my pleasure to share the following reflections from Eddie.  (Emily Allen, SCACPA Communications Coordinator)

Many CPAs have served in a wide variety of volunteer positions.  After all it is just the nature of a CPA to work on someone else’s books, to help other businesses succeed and to accept such admirable challenges in our profession.  If one were to list all the charitable organizations that South Carolina CPAs have served as a board member, the list would probably be overwhelming.  As I reflect on my career, I have had opportunities to serve and still find myself very active on a number of boards.  And serving on the Board of Directors for SCACPA is one task that I have enjoyed immensely. 

While each office was a challenge and a joy, I am somewhat sad that I only have another quarter to enjoy the office of “Past President”.  Oh how sweet it is to be the “past” part of that office.  Well, bitter sweet at best.  I have placed as my top priority to ensure that my input is humble and secondary to the current President, Tim Baker.  And it was in a recent EC meeting that I heard Tim say to our President Elect, “Michael, I will be there for you, just like Eddie has been there for me”.   Hearing those words were fulfilling, but sad at the same time.  I will graduate from this position and step aside as our officers bring their fresh and challenging ideas to the table. 

One enjoys the moment of reaching the mountain top.  But as time moves on others will take us higher and higher, building on the foundation that was laid by those who went before them.  While I have not yet passed the intangible “gavel of Past President” to Tim Baker, I do very much look forward to placing that title into the history books and watching Michael Putich, Sharon Mann and Malynda Grimsley move SCACPA well along into our future. 

Just as I have thanked members of SCACPA for the opportunity to be their President, I once again thank each of you for allowing me the grace to be your Past President.  While I have gone nowhere, I have simply changed hats and remain an active member of this wonderful association.

Contributed by: Charles “Eddie” Brown, SwaimBrown, PA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

