Past Presidents

In less than a week, I will technically become a “Past President” of SCACPA…what an honor!  My black and white photo was added to the “wall” in the SCACPA office last year and Tim Baker’s photo will now be the most recent to decorate that special area.  While serving on the Executive Committee, I have honored the instruction and example of so many that came before me, Charlie Redfern, Sylvia Kitchens, Pat McDermott, Bob Baldwin and Mark Hobbs.  Each of these CPAs had a unique leadership style and I learned from each one of them.  They offered a wonderful model and set a high bar of achievement.

My earliest memories of being a CPA in South Carolina included my membership in SCACPA.  After completing the two-year experience requirement, I immediately applied for membership in both the AICPA and SCACPA.  I have maintained and valued both memberships through the years.  In 1976 I was hoping to get a three digit license number, but did not succeed.  My South Carolina number is 1026.  But my membership number in SCACPA is a three digit number – faded as it may be –  it can still be read as 969 and is dated the 1st day of August 1976. 

Also I reflect on the honor it has been to follow the SCACPA footsteps of my first employer- Derrick, Stubbs and Stith.  All three of these named partners are past presidents of SCACPA.  It seemed so long ago that I was honored to be employed in the office with Mr. Derrick, who was a chartered CPA in the state of South Carolina.  I worked long hours for Mr. Stubbs, who had a keen mind for both tax and accounting.  Mr. Stith also was quite the gentleman and was most respected.  So it is with great honor that I join those three CPAs on the wall of past presidents.

It is said that when we have more memories than dreams, the end is near.  I do have many great memories.  But I hope that the end is not near for this CPA.  While I say good-bye to 2010, I look forward with vim and vigor as 2011 comes to life.  Tim Baker has already assigned me SCACPA tasks to accomplish in 2011.  My vision and dream is to see SCACPA continue to meet the challenges of the day and guide South Carolina CPAs along the course of professional excitement and leadership.

So I say “Good-bye 2010,” and stand tall, as I have hopefully cheered the hearts, shared a few laughs, shed a few tears and torn away the stereotype via my blog articles this year.  The mere thought of writing a blog each week was intimidating.  But how can a leader ask others to follow, if they do not accept new roads to travel, as well.  My high school English teacher would be proud of me.  I thank God for spell check.  And I must say, it was fun.  I hope that those of you who have followed my blogs enjoyed them. 

I thank each of you for allowing me the privilege of becoming a Past President!!Passing of the gavel

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

