Mommas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be……

While I am not much into music, I do recall a country western song that warned mothers not to let their babies grow up to be cowboys.  Other than that one line, I honestly do not recall the reason why a mother should heed this warning.  Actually, if I had a choice to change my career path, the thought of being a cowboy is appealing to me.  That is evident to many as I proudly and quite often wear any one of the neckties from my bolo collection.  My favorite bolo displays some beautiful ivory from the tooth of a wooly mammoth found in a glacier in Alaska.  If two of my mentors and past-presidents, Charlie Redfern and Bob Baldwin, can wear their unique bowties, then my legacy can be the bolo. 

Before I stray too far, let me say that I would hope that all mothers would consider “letting their babies” grow up to be accountants.  This profession may not have great appeal to the young preschooler who loves Spiderman (my grandson for example).  It may not appeal to the pre-teen who seeks something more glamorous, and it may not appeal to the college student…..until they really do their homework.  I am very impressed that the AICPA has long ago reacted in a positive way to fill the pipeline for future CPAs.  There are two interesting web sites established by the AICPA that should recruit potential young men and women into this wonderful profession.  Please feel free to click on the links below and explore them.

The first web site is Start Here Go Places (startheregoplaces.com).  It targets the high school student and starts with “Why Accounting? The amazingly good stuff no one has told you yet”.  It is a very thorough and informative site.  While it may not fully appeal to the boomer or current day accountant, it is uniquely designed to target those on the high school level.  If a student will read it carefully, any myths about the profession should be erased.

The second web site is This Way to CPA (thiswaytocpa.com).  This site targets the college student.  The amazing front page begins, “Unravel yourself from the fetal position.  You will get a job.” There are career tools and expanded explanations about this career field.  Topics such as careers and internships are sprinkled throughout the pages.  The AICPA reports that this tool has been very effective.

I would encourage each CPA to refer these tools to the younger generation.  When I have conversations with college students and prospects for the accounting profession, I will always refer them to these AICPA web sites.  These sites can say more and provide ample encouragement far above that which I can do myself.  And this “boomer” needs to have that pipeline full in order for the next generation to fund my retirement. 

I guess the only warning to mothers from me would be “Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Sudoku Puzzle Lovers”.  I will never forget the day in Atlanta where I attended a conference and a CPA introduced me to Sudoku.  My secret sin is that I am now addicted to those silly little puzzles.  Of course I could have worse habits!

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

