21st Century Vocabulary

The English language is challenging enough, but keeping up with acronyms and new words in this hyper technology era is somewhat challenging.  I just returned from New Orleans where I represented South Carolina at the Fall meeting of the AICPA Governing Council.  I met people from RISCPA, GSCPA, KSCPA and most every state in the USA.  I actually found it PC for a person to use their PDA to keep abreast of their email.  I am quite proud of the fact that I figured out most of the acronyms among my professional peers, most of us being boomers.

My children are adults now, but they seemed to create some vocabulary that was surely intended to separate the parents from the…teenagers.  My son finally explained to his father that “bad” meant good.  And when he told me that something was “the bomb,” I did not have to dive for cover and yell “incoming.”  As best I recall, we never challenged our parents with a new vocabulary, because we were far too “cool” to do anything like that.

My wife recently gave me a Kindle and I have been reading “Bloody Crimes” a novel that tells the parallel story of the assassination and long funeral procession of Abraham Lincoln, along with the pursuit and capture of Jefferson Davis.  Vocabulary in the 1860s was somewhat different than that of current day, and luckily the Kindle has a feature where one can use the dictionary without leaving the page…”cool!”

And then I must confess that the vocabulary was somewhat challenging at the AICPA Council meeting.  Acronyms and other titles were used along with new vocabulary that I had never heard.  AICPA’s new immediate past chair is going to be serving on the IFAC (International Federation of Accountants).  A portion of our presentations addressed “cloud computing.”  And for the first time I heard the term “K-14.”  I refuse to be left behind within the 21st Century vocabulary, but came to realize that if I do not understand, I have a solution.  While reading my email on my PDA which is rather PC, I can “Google” a word, phrase or acronym and find the answer immediately.  (Is Google now a verb?).

Whew!  It is exhausting to remain current at times, but it can be fun. So to my fellow CPAs, keep those Blackberries handy!

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

