Father’s Day

Father’s Day 2010 has now passed.  I’ve an only begotten son and grandson and found my Father’s Day quite enjoyable.  Also I am blessed to still have my father who is now 84 years young.  He has always been my hero.  And that is for many reasons.  He is part of America’s “Greatest Generation.”   Like many in his youth, he joined the United States Navy at the age of 16 and was part of seven battles in the South Pacific during WWII.  He was not an accountant, but retired as an Electrician’s Mate Master Chief after serving 24 years.  I spent many hours bass fishing with him in the earlier years.  It is my honor and privilege to be his only begotten son.

My father may not be aware of this, but he actually helped land my first client.  He was working as a fishing guide at a marina in Eutawville in Orangeburg County.  I was spending some fishing time with him and staying with him in the campgrounds.  The business owner, Danny, found me late in the afternoon walking along in the marina area and invited me to get into his pickup truck.  As we rode around the campgrounds, Danny told me how much he appreciated my dad.  It always thrills a son’s spirit to hear someone brag on their father.  Danny told me that he had never met anyone more honest and trustworthy.  Then Danny came to the reason he wanted me to ride in his truck.  As I paraphrase, I will tell you that Danny said that if my father’s son was near the man my father was, Danny wanted that son to be his CPA.  I had just moved from Columbia to Spartanburg and now landed my first new client-all the way from Orangeburg County.  While Danny passed away several years ago, the family and business are still clients. 

So, to all fathers, let me extend a belated Happy Father’s Day.  And may all of us so shine that we too can bring goodwill not only to ourselves, but to our sons and daughters, as well.

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

