My Fear

All of us have fears. Without them we could not survive. I fear driving too fast on the highway. I fear trying to swim while lightning is striking. I fear the loss of my CPA certification if I act unethically. Fear can be a positive influence on our lives. But fear can also cause us to hold back or even stop progress, relative to certain undertakings. So I conclude that it is important that we define and value our fears. I wish to control my fears rather than allowing them to control me.

Some people fear the future. As a CPA, I would challenge each of us to replace fear of the future with confidence in our profession. It seems that I have come across more than a few people who are very fearful of our future economy. They keep pointing me to the extremely poor economic turn in Europe. Many are focused on the oil catastrophe in the Gulf. May I suggest that we turn our fears into challenges? As a profession I believe we should be constantly redefining our future. We should control our future and not let our future (or fear of a perceived future) mold us. We should be ever ready and willing to create and recreate the landscape of our profession. Let’s challenge the political process. Let’s challenge our clients and friends to proceed through any and every economy with confidence, as we stand with them. We must answer every call, every challenge and every situation. We must have victory over what others call impossible!

CPAs do not have all the answers, but we do have a deep inventory of business acumen. So I suggest that each of us approach our business with a sense of positive confidence. Let’s be the leaders that move our economy out of fear and into the realm of success. Our world is more interconnected than ever before (IFRS). A4S (Accounting for Sustainability) is waiting to be defined. Technology will not stand by and wait for the CPA profession to catch up.

As a CPA we can choose to be a follower or a leader. With or without fear I choose to be a leader. And I challenge each member of SCACPA to enhance the highly valued team of human capital know as South Carolina CPAs. Let’s move forward with the confidence that defines us. Let fear be our friend, as we tackle any problem…no, any challenge that is before us.

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

