A little more than two weeks and counting…

Tired and seeking that second breath…or is it the third?  I have worked in public practice my entire career, which may lead one to say that I am the stereotypical CPA that many envision.  When people come to me in public meetings and pull me aside for free tax advice, I do not have to offer some explanation about being a cost accountant, a financial auditor or find some other polite way out of guaranteeing my answer. 

This particular slice of our vocation causes me to find this time of year to be very demanding.  I reframe from working on Sundays, in honor and obedience of my faith, however, as I tap out this blog, it is early Saturday morning and I need to get to the office and try to catch up.   My body tells me this morning to go back to bed.  The beautiful tulips are blooming and singing the songs of spring.  Acres and acres of peach blossoms about the orchards of the Upstate of South Carolina are inviting my soul to come outside and enjoy nature.  Having slipped from my diet, my body screams for energy.  My brain is getting challenged to the limits of the unique applications of tax law.

At this point in tax season most of the easy returns have been processed.  Now we have to complete those S Corps and trusts that generate the last piece of paper needed to complete a number of individual returns.  Those sloppy client accountings that hit my desk are a pain in the elbow.  The notes taken over the last year and placed into client files seem to be less clear than when originally written.  As we try to keep a smile and an encouraging tone around the office, there is a slip or two that calls for a quick apology.

This is year number 36 for me and each has been unique.  My comments may not be marketing material for the profession and I apologize for that.  But this profession is not for sissies.  It is with great pride that I say that in the end the work is very rewarding.  My clients appreciate the way that we look out for them.  They know we are reaching down deep to be certain that their returns are in full compliance with the law.  After all, nothing of value comes easy. 

A little more than two weeks…and counting until  April 16th, my favorite day of the year!

Blogger: Charles ‘Eddie’ Brown, CPA

About scacpa

The South Carolina Association of CPAs is a professional organization that provides support to all CPAs – whether in public practice, industry, government or education - with lifelong learning opportunities necessary for their success, the promotion of high ethical standards and legislative advocacy for both the public good and for the profession.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

